Clogger of the Year


2017 Clogger of the Year - LOLA BEATY


Lola started clogging in 1981, during that time showed leadership qualities and soon took over as director when her director retired in 1990.  She is very passionate about traditional drag/slide style of Appalachian clogging and for many years has taught it at the Texas Clogging Rally and other workshops as well as to beginner students.  She cares deeply about educating new students and the community about the history of clogging, but also recognizes the importance of adapting to the evolution of clogging and blending of multiple styles from traditional and buck to Canadian and tap influences.  Even so much, that she recognized changing the name of her clogging team was important to reflect the variety of dance styles and musical genres the team utilized.  The name of her team was The Friendswood Country Cloggers that became the Collective Sound Cloggers.

Over the years, she has been a devoted member of the Texas Clogging Council.  She has served as Southeast Vice President between ’95-‘98. Hosted the 2003 Great Texas Hoedown.  She was integral in forming the Texas Leadership Program est in 2014 and currently serves as editor of the Texas Clogger.

On a personal note, from one of her dancers, Jennie Roberts,
"Not only did she teach me how to clog, but she taught me how to choreograph a dance, read and write cue sheets and how to break down and teach steps—starting at the age of 14. Throughout my teenage years when many girls feel lost or unsure, she gave me a creative outlet and always made sure I knew how lucky I was to have a special gift for carrying on the art form of clogging. She has also encouraged other dancers on our team to step up and choreograph or teach if they want to. She has a wonderful spirit that really brings out the best of her dancers."

So join us in recognizing our COY… she exemplifies the spirit of clogging, and has truly been an amazing ambassador for Texas clogging.

Do you know someone deserving of CLOGGER OF THE YEAR?  Nominate them here! 

Past Recipients

 1989 Nancy Biehler
 1990 Allen Zion
 1991 Bob Feingold
 1992 Bobby Whitefield
 1993 Bill & Martha Stahl
 1994 Glen McCrary
 1995 Peggy Hadley
 1996 Charlene Burton
 1997 Bill Moeller
 1998 Ron Hodge
 1999 no recipient
 2000 Ethel Wilmesmeier
 2001 Robert Ball
 2002 Jean Moeller
 2003 Bobbi Boyce
 2004 Rita Hodge
 2005 Buster Green
 2006 Rhonda Butzke
 2007 Newt Weeks
 2008 Marilyn Penton
 2009 Bobby Butzke
 2010 Ellen Lane
 2011 John Pryor
 2012 Dee Dick
 2013 Jack McFarland & Lori Cannon
 2014 Susan Roberts
 2015 Susie Blankenship
 2016 Molly Martin
 2017 Lola Beaty
 2018 Josh Phillips
 The Texas Clogging Council is a 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Organization - Established 1982  Like Us on FacebookFollow Us on TwitterWatch Us on YouTube

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software